The favorite formulas of the research group.

Chair of Analysis

Team

Welcome to the website of the Working Group on Analysis.  The working group is headed by Professor Sylvie Paycha and the secretariat is represented by Sylke Pfeiffer.

Learn more

 

Research

We work on calculus of a wide breadth, including analytic index theory, elliptic boundary value problems, manifolds with singularities, pseudo-differential operators, multizeta functions as parts of mathematics, as well as regularisation and renormalisation methods in quantum field theory. Analysis, a foundation of mathematics, offers many points of contact with other areas of mathematics such as geometry and operator theory, but also with physics. Thanks to these multifaceted relationships and its long tradition, this discipline - despite its advanced age - remains in full swing and forms a central building block of today's mathematics.

Learn more.

 

 

Interviews with mathematicians

Women in mathematics

Making a place for herself in the male-dominated mathematical community is no easy task for a woman, and often women mathematicians encounter particular difficulties in doing so. Exhibitions, lectures and debates will shed light on the special situation of women in mathematics.

Contemporary of reunification point at the Mathematical Institute in Potsdam (March 2018).

In this series of interviews, male and female mathematicians from Potsdam who experienced the reunification at the Institute of Mathematics or were hired shortly afterwards talk about their experiences. The first interviews were conducted by Prof. Sylvie Paycha in early 2018. Further interviews were conducted by Dr Elke Rosenberger in early 2019.

 

Interview with Pierre Cartier (04.12.2014)

Interview (French with English subtitles)

Interview (French)

Teaching

Our working group is actively involved in the diverse teaching programme of the Institute of Mathematics at the University of Potsdam. You can find out more about the seminars and lectures we offer here.

Latest

We would be pleased to welcome you at our seminars and events organised by our working group. You can find out more about our current dates here.

Die Lieblingsformeln der Arbeitsgruppe:

Professur für Analysis

Personen

Willkommen auf der Webseite der Arbeitsgruppe für Analysis.  Die Arbeitsgruppe wird von Professor  Sylvie Paycha geleitet und das Sekretariat  wird durch Sylke Pfeiffer vertreten. mehr erfahren

Forschung

Wir bearbeiten die Analysis einer großen Breite, die sowohl   Analytische Index Theorie,  Elliptische Randwert Probleme, Mannigfaltigkeiten mit Singularitäten, Pseudodifferential  Operatoren, Multizeta Funktionen als Teile der Mathematik, sowie Regularisierungs- und Renormierungsmethoden in der Quanten Feld Theorie umfasst. Die Analysis, ein Fundament der Mathematik, bietet  viele Berührungspunkte  mit  anderen Gebieten der Mathematik wie  Geometrie und  Operatortheorie,  aber  auch mit  der Physik. Dank dieser vielseitigen Beziehungen und ihrer langen Tradition  bleibt diese Disziplin - trotz ihres fortgeschrittenen Alters - voll  im Schwung und  bildet einen zentralen  Baustein der heutigen Mathematik.
mehr erfahren

Interviews mit Mathematikern

Frauen und Mathematik

Sich einen Platz in der von Männern dominierten mathematischen Gemeinschaft zu schaffen ist für eine Frau keine leichte Aufgabe und oft  stoßen Mathematikerinnen dabei auf besondere Schwierigkeiten. Durch Ausstellungen, Vorträge und Debatte wird die besondere Situation von Frauen in der Mathematik beleuchtet.

Zeitzeugen der Wende am Mathematischen Institut in Potsdam (März 2018)

In dieser Serie von Interviews berichten Potsdamer Mathematiker und Mathematikerinnen, die die Wende am Institut für Mathematik erlebt haben oder kurz danach eingestellt wurden, von ihren Erfahrungen. Die  ersten Interviews wurden von Prof. Sylvie Paycha Anfang 2018  durchgeführt. Weitere Interviews   wurden Anfang 2019 von Dr. Elke Rosenberger durchgeführt.

 

Interview mit Pierre Cartier (04.12.2014)

Interview (französisch mit englischen Untertiteln)

Interview (französisch)

Lehre

Unsere Arbeitsgruppe beteiligt sich aktiv am vielfältigen Lehrprogramm des Instituts für Mathematik der Universität Potsdam. Über von uns angebotene Seminare und Vorlesungen können Sie hier mehr erfahren.

Aktuelles

Wir würden uns freuen, wenn wir Sie bei unseren Seminaren und durch unsere Arbeitsgruppe organisierten Veranstaltungen begrüßen dürfen. Über unsere aktuellen Termine können Sie hier mehr erfahren.